top of page


The Camberwell Magpies Cricket Club Inc. was created on Sunday 4 February 1996 by the merging of the Collingwood Cricket Club Inc (founded September 1905), which played in the Victorian Cricket Association District competition, and the Camberwell Cricket Club Inc (founded February 1864), whose teams played in the competitions of the Victorian Sub-District Cricket Association, the Eastern Suburbs Cricket Association and Eastern Suburbs Cricket Association Junior Section.

This merger took effect from the start of the 1996-1997 cricket season, continuing the presence of a senior Camberwell Cricket Club since 1864. The first round of that season had the Camberwell Magpies CC at home to Prahran, but rain washed out the entire round.

The combined Club’s first senior premiership was the VCA Premier Cricket Second XI Two-Day flag, which was won in season 1999/2000 under the leadership of captain Nick Toce.

Since then, the club has won five premierships in the lower grades, including Two-Day flags in the Second XI in 2012/13 and the Third XI in 2008/09 and One-Day flags in the Third XI (2003/04 and 2011/12) and Fourth XI (2012/13).

In 2016/17, the Club secured its first Cricket Victoria Club Championship since the merger on the back of all four senior teams making the finals.

bottom of page